

# Villages of Westcreek Owners Association Annual Meeting of the Members Thursday April 21, 2022

**Open Meeting:** The Annual Meeting of the Members was called to order by the President, at 6:04pm after achieving a quorum on the 3rd call. The purpose of the meeting was to conduct regular business as identified in the pre-announced agenda.

# **Board members present:**

Kevin Drummonds, President Elaine Maurer, Vice President Heather Mallia, Treasurer Brandon Schuler, Secretary

### **Board Members Absent:**

Richard Riggie, Assistant Secretary

#### **Members Present:**

Bill Fenstermacher

Greg Liggett

Coral Fathy

Francis Lomax

Arthur Jacobson

Daniel Schafer

Brian Bush

Amy Bonaccorso

Laura Rico

Barbara Crabtree

Amanda Smalley

Jose Cortez

Angela Longoria

Kim Dixon

Jacqueline Osborne

Terri Holmes

Richard Acosta

Parie Reynolds

**Adrian Suttles** 

Don Livingston

**Eugene Hopkins** 

**Charles Sarratt** 

Cynthia Esparza

Melissa Hiltbrunner

Danielle Bell

Clarissa Rodriguez

Mayra Alvarado

Christine Rozen

Lindsey Ramirez
Laura Estello
Mariela Angulo
Patricia Bennett
Kyle Jones
Jacqueline Hamilton-Willis
Victor Estello

6 Additional Members were present via Zoom. Signed into the meeting with only their first name.

# **Staff Present:**

Maria Robinson, Community Manager Jason Dunbar, Recreation Director/Assistant CM Miranda Donaldson, Spectrum Representative Dannah Krueger, Spectrum Representative

## **Guests Present:**

Phil Vaughn, CPA Armstrong-Vaughn
Rebecca Clay-Flores, Commissioner
Zaid Subhi, Bexar County Wastewater
Ethan Spierling, Inspector
Robert Bach, Bexar County
Raul Garza, Bexar County Sheriff
David Brewer, Fire Marshall's Office
Chris Lopez, Fire Marshall's Office
Tony Buitrago, Bexar County Sheriff
Phillip Cortez, State Representative
Steven Carrillo, Bexar County Sheriff
Frankie Gonzales-Wolfe, Commissioners Office
Patty Hernandez, Commissioners Office
Clarissa Rodriguez, State Representative's Office

- **I. Approval of the minutes** 2021 Annual Meeting minutes were reviewed by the Board and membership present. A motion was made by Eva Vaquez to accept the Annual Meeting minutes as written. A second was provided by Danielle Bell and all were in favor. The minutes were approved as written.
- **II. Nomination for Board Members:** The floor was opened up for nominations and there were none made so the floor was closed.
- **III. Introduction of Candidates-** Brandon Schuler, Brian Bush, and Heather Mallia introduced themselves and gave a brief bio of themselves. Cynthia Esparza withdrew from the candidate list as of April 20, 2022 due to family illness.
- **IV. Voting-** Voting was open from March 7, 2022, until 5:00PM on Thursday April 21, 2022, allowing homeowners multiple ways to vote. Ballots were mailed out to every homeowner and online voting was available, as well as ballots being made available at the Villages of Westcreek office. In-person voting was held the day of the meeting in the Villages of Westcreek office until 6:30PM as well. Voting was broken down as follows: 500 votes cast online, 48 ballots were turned into the ballot box located in the office and 1 vote were cast in-person the day of the meeting.

V. Financial Report-CPA Presentation- Phil Vaughn with Armstrong-Vaughn & Associates, P.C., the Associations CPA firm, reviewed the Associations 2021 Audit with the Board and membership present. Mr. Vaughn reported that the Association's books are in order and no issues were found. The report states that the firm is "not aware of any material modifications that should be made to the accompanying financial statements in order for them to be in accordance with the accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America." Mr. Vaughn provided a comparative overview of the Association's financial statements. Despite not raising membership dues in 2021, income increased over 2020 by \$125,122.00. This increase was due to facility rentals and sporting programs. The expense side also saw a slight increase over 2020 which was due to the expenses associated with running the sporting programs. As of Dec 31, 2021, the remaining balance on the note payable on the Community Center was \$167,490.00. This note should be paid off in 2023, several years ahead of schedule. Mr. Vaughn further stated that our Reserve Funds (savings for required repairs) have a healthy balance. Based on the 2020 Reserve Study conducted by Reserve Advisors, the Association's anticipated reserve balance at the end of 2021 was \$528,826.00. The Association's actual reserve balance as of December 31, 2021, was \$573,783.00.

VI. Homeowner Forum: Homeowners asked the various representatives from the county, and the state questions pertaining to the new Mr. W Firework stand that is being built across from the sports park. The State Representative's office stated that currently there are no laws against the stand being built in the current location and he would be interested in working to bring this up in the 2023 Legislative Session. The Fire Marshall's office explained that Mr. W has at this time to their knowledge met all criteria to build the stand in that area and have the safety requirements such as the fire wall, sprinklers and installing 4" thick CMU walls. In the homeowner chat, there were questions regarding who is responsible for trimming of trees, fence repairs along Talley Road damaged by the construction, and whether The Vista's monument will be replaced eventually. The homeowners were informed that the lot owners are responsible for trimming trees, the Community Manager will work to get a point of contact for fence repair, and that The Vista's monument is on the list to be replaced/repaired eventually. A homeowner addressed the Commissioner's office regarding a traffic study at Daisy Field and Potranco. Patty Hernandez stated that the request has been sent to TXDOT. Question and Answer was closed by the President, Kevin Drummonds at 7:36 PM.

**VII.** Election Results: Brandon Schuler, Brian Bush and Heather Mallia were elected to the Board of Directors, all will serve two-year terms to expire in 2024.

**VIII. ADJOURNMENT:** There being no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 7:44 p.m.

Organizational meeting April 21, 2022 Zoom

Meeting was called to order at 7:44 pm

Kevin Drummonds, current President called an immediate Organizational Meeting after the Annual Meeting was adjourned to determine Board Positions until the next Annual Meeting in 2023.

Motion was made to elect Elaine Maurer to the position as President, second was provided and all were in favor. Elaine Maurer will be the President for the remainder of the year which ends at the annual meeting in 2023.

Motion was made to elect Kevin Drummonds as Vice President, a second was provided and all were in favor. Kevin Drummonds will be the VWOA Vice President for the remainder of the year which ends at the annual meeting 2023.

Motion was made to elect Heather Mallia as the VWOA Treasurer, a second was provided and all were in favor. Heather Mallia will serve as the VWOA Treasurer for the remainder of the year which ends at the annual meeting 2023.

Motion was made to elect Brandon Schuler to the position of VWOA Secretary, a second was provided and all were in favor. Brandon Schuler will serve as the VWOA Secretary for the remainder of the year which ends at the annual meeting 2023.

Meeting was adjourned at 7:47 pm.	
Attested by:	
	Date:
Brian Bush, Secretary	
Approved by:	
	Date:
Elaine Maurer, President	
Posted in the VWOA Book of Minutes and on VWOA website by:	
	Date:
Maria Robinson, Community Manager	

Motion was made to elect Brian Bush to the position of VWOA Assistant Secretary, a second was provided and all were in favor. Brian Bush will serve for the remainder of the year which ends at the annual meeting 2023.